Gender Schmender!

I’m not sure why this country is up in arms over the transgender bathroom issue. Don’t get me wrong, I understand the issue at hand and have a problem with it myself. However, you’re assuming that just because there is a law in place people will actually abide by it.

I was in a busy airport restroom recently when a woman brazenly walked in and announced she was considering herself a boy today because her bathroom was closed. She then proceeded to wait within arms reach behind a line of men doing what they do in a restroom. (And just in case you ladies aren’t informed, we usually don’t get walls–or couches, potpourri, flowers, etc!) She made her statement in gest and obviously had no identity crisis–just the lack of motivation, dignity or respect to walk the 50 yards to the next restroom. She also wasn’t in a dire need or having a medical necessity, in case you were wondering. She was simply uncaring and blazé, assuming that no one would alert the authorities, which no one did.

I’m wondering how well this would have gone over with the gender roles reversed? If I had walked into and loitered in the woman’s bathroom? The first issue I would have had to deal with would be the concussion my wife would have provided for me, I’m sure! I’m guessing a beating (from someone I’m not married to) or a security person would have materialized within a minute or two, probably followed by formal charges and legal issues.

I have had medical necessity and yet still couldn’t have brought myself to break this particular law, especially in such a matter-of-fact manner. Who knows, maybe I’ve got it all wrong. Maybe it wouldn’t be an issue and may have even led to dating opportunities when I was single, who’s to say? What I do know is that laws and rules are for those that choose to obey them in the first place. Therefore, those individuals that obey the laws aren’t usually the ones in need of the laws. The rule breakers and scofflaws will do as they please, as they always have, regardless of how many more regulations are added to attempt to bolster morality and decency. By all means proceed with the law making, but don’t be surprised when people do whatever they want, as usual.

About PR Huckans

I'm a retired dentist who likes to drive fast, travel, and try to be a good worker, father, husband and Christian. I don't know how well I am doing in each category, but I can drive very fast and I work very hard! You can find out more about me at my author page at Amazon
This entry was posted in Decency, humor, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

