What Luck!

“Wow, I can’t believe my luck!” “What a coincidence!” “Well that all worked out nicely!”

Some people say these verses and others as if simply random events miraculously worked harmoniously to their benefit and everything came together out of the chaos of the universe to guide circumstances to exactly where they ended up. How fortuitous! It’s no wonder our society is moving ever more away from God, pushing Him into a corner to be called upon only as needed when we drink too much or seemingly have nowhere else to turn. Instead of our daily bread, He’s become our last resort. We’ve elevated our own status and consider ourselves orchestrators of our own lives, all-powerful creators of our own successes. And the rest is just chalked up to dumb luck. How wonderful for us.

While it is unfortunately true that evil people do succeed in this world and that good, hard-working people fall flat, it is a massive disservice and mistake to attribute all that does go correctly in our lives to luck and all that goes badly to God’s abandonment. We don’t want to give him any of the glory, but instead heap all the judgement upon Him per our rules of the universe. Sounds idiotically dangerous to me, but what the hey…you go on about your bad selves. Me…I choose to dwell on Psalm 73. I suggest you read it; it gives me strength, hope and reinvigorates my perseverance in this strange and hostile world.

God absolutely works in our lives. Period. Whether you believe or not. Whether you give Him credit or not. He loves us all and wants nothing more than for us to come to Him and live forever. Just because we believe doesn’t mean we will live trouble-free lives, but that will not stop me from humbling myself to his ultimate power when it manifests in my life. My piece of advice today–give credit to whom credit is due. He deserves it! Give thanks in all circumstances, it’s not all about you.

About PR Huckans

I'm a retired dentist who likes to drive fast, travel, and try to be a good worker, father, husband and Christian. I don't know how well I am doing in each category, but I can drive very fast and I work very hard! You can find out more about me at my author page at Amazon
This entry was posted in Decency, Morality, priorities, relationship, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

