Getting Older

I’m on vacation so I thought I’d give you an excerpt from my first book to pique your interest:

I know I’m getting older because I complain about the music these kids are listening to today and that everything hurts all the time. Can someone tell me how is it that I go to bed feeling fine and wake up feeling like I was the dance floor at the prom? Remember when we were kids and you just naturally looked like you could run a marathon but now squat thrusts ruin you for three days? But complaining about health issues kind of reminds me of having an old car. Maybe you had or wanted a ‘57 Chevy (for me it would be a ‘68 Mustang fastback). I bet you would expect to replace some parts, do some work (okay a lot of work) on it on the weekends. A bunch of them barely run or aren’t even around anymore. How about a ‘71 whatever, an ‘81? You get my point? I think we’re doing pretty good as a whole if we are still around, let alone hopefully working pretty well. Our bodies are just huge, complex sets of wonderful mechanics. So you have to replace a water pump here and there, maybe a CV joint, or you need your wiring checked (who doesn’t). If you are here and running, count your blessings! After all, what can you expect in a fallen world?

Since when did aging become a disease? Something to be ashamed of? I love my gray hair (okay, only the ones that don’t stick straight out–oh, and not the ones in my nose, oh, and my ears; whatever)! Some women (no, not you baby!) try to single-handedly stimulate the economy by purchasing anything that contains the words “youth,” “miracle,” or “anti-aging,” “sagging,” “graying.” I spent my career trying to coax people to get the dreaded “shot” and here these ladies are lining up to get a needle stuck in their faces (among other places), repeatedly! On purpose! There are columns of plastic surgeons in the phone book just waiting to see if they can help stretch and mold you like Gumby! What’s wrong with aging and the way we look? I’m not condoning the donut diet and twelve ounce curls, but remember when working out wasn’t something you had to plan your day around? “What are you doing today, Bob?” “I’m going to work out.” “Oh yea? Then what?” “That’s it. Then maybe crash on the couch, or go back to bed.” I personally have much better things to spend my money on than torture disguised as “looking younger and better.” (Did any celebrity names pop into your mind just then?? You know–the botched attempts?) Remember “blue haired” ladies? Not anymore! Now the ladies in the nursing homes have all the colors of the rainbow (which doesn’t include white or gray)! Oh well, if my wife and others want to fight tooth and nail to prolong the inevitable, good for them. Me, I will go peacefully into that silver oblivion.

You can read more if you follow the links at the top of my blog to learn How to be Content in a World Full of Malcontents.

About PR Huckans

I'm a retired dentist who likes to drive fast, travel, and try to be a good worker, father, husband and Christian. I don't know how well I am doing in each category, but I can drive very fast and I work very hard! You can find out more about me at my author page at Amazon
This entry was posted in Book, priorities, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

