Tell Me the Truth!

In this electronic age, it is isn’t prudent to believe everything you see and hear. Interviews are edited, pictures altered and contexts shifted. With the speed of the internet, whichever story hits first becomes gospel and becomes nearly impossible to refute. The benefit of the doubt and truth take backseats to bandwagons and malicious gossip.

Do you remember the days when we could think for ourselves? When we were presented with non-biased (or at least much less biased) and unaltered information, then left to discuss it among our friends and family in order to form our own opinions? Days in which character and proven track records won out over ratings and viral videos?

I used to wake each morning to read the paper during breakfast and ended each day watching the evening news. Those days are gone. And probably for the best. With so much misinformation, media spin and ulterior motives and agendas, I’m not sure how many actual facts make it to my ears and eyes. I’m now reminded daily how easy it is to ruin a reputation, a career, a family and more with a maligned word, mistaken quote, ill-timed photo or outright lie. By the time the truth comes to bear, the damage is done and people are left to pick up whatever pieces they can salvage, all while their heads are still spinning from disbelief.

We need to change what we’re willing to believe, what we take for truth…we need to take advice from Missouri’s Congressman Willard Duncan Vandiver, who declared, “I come from a state that raises corn and cotton and cockleburs and Democrats, and frothy eloquence neither convinces nor satisfies me. I am from Missouri. You have got to show me.”

Let’s let truth reign and gossip die. Let’s find our morality and common sense instead of the bandwagon. Let’s test everything through the filter of Christ and take to heart only those things worth believing. Let’s have some hope and show some faith in humanity.

“Test everything. Hold on to the good. Avoid every kind of evil.” 1 Thessalonians 5:21

About PR Huckans

I'm a retired dentist who likes to drive fast, travel, and try to be a good worker, father, husband and Christian. I don't know how well I am doing in each category, but I can drive very fast and I work very hard! You can find out more about me at my author page at Amazon
This entry was posted in Decency, Morality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

