Message to Law Enforcement

In an age when we are saturated by media and its fervent spin on current events, it’s increasingly difficult to tell if issues in our society have worsened or just come under someone’s particular spotlight. Lately that spotlight has been shining brightly on the misdeeds of our police forces. While I am certain that our men in blue are not all saints, it disheartens me to consider that more than a few may be destroying our overall view of their standing in society.

I am a staunch supporter of our police forces if for no other reason than the thought of life without order and enforcement places us into chaos and a need for Darwinistic survival. I understand that absolute power corrupts absolutely, and am not condoning free rein. I also understand, however, that these folks deal with more stress in their daily line of duty than most of us can imagine. It is extremely easy and inappropriate for outsiders to dissect our officers actions after the fact, from the safety of our couches. They must make split second decisions to stay alive and keep us safe and therefore don’t always have the luxury of instantaneous deep consideration.

It disheartens me and defeats my resolve to imagine that a possible majority of our forces are corrupt, immoral and/or lovers of violence. It saddens me more that this world would jump on the media bandwagon to highlight the faults of a few in order to extend the sentiment to the majority.

I will continue to have faith, hope and concern for our men and women in blue because I have faith in the seemingly dwindling morality of our ever increasingly self-centered society.

I do, however, have a message for those that wear the uniform, one that I hope they will consider: people are obviously watching, scrutinizing; waiting for you to make an error, to screw up, to fall from your positions of authority….make every effort to live your life in a way that proves you are worthy of our trust, respect and honor. Stop attempting to handle things inside the brotherhood; trying to hide them from exposure…uphold the laws and morality for which you are supposed to stand–equally for those inside the force and outside.

I beg you to strengthen our resolve in you and the badge you wear.

About PR Huckans

I'm a retired dentist who likes to drive fast, travel, and try to be a good worker, father, husband and Christian. I don't know how well I am doing in each category, but I can drive very fast and I work very hard! You can find out more about me at my author page at Amazon
This entry was posted in justice, Police, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

