Say it Like it is!

I’m a very successful dentist. I’ve had multiple years of intense education that has given me the knowledge to properly perform my profession. One thing I learned very quickly in dealing with my patients is that importance and relevance are not gained by utilizing over bloated verbiage. More simply put, don’t try to talk over people, talk to them. Speak simply and from the heart.

That kind of thinking almost got me dismissed from school…my skills were top of the class, but I was too “familiar” with my patients for the liking of the professors. They felt that our education not only entitled us, but necessitated that we drown our patients in medical terms and dazzle them with our vast knowledge….which also left many in our charge clueless as to their conditions and hopeless in their decision-making processes.

I’m pointing this out today because I have a friend that has read my first book and wasn’t dazzled by its eloquent prose. He had no complaint about the content, in fact he enjoyed the message, but felt the wording was too simplistic–it was too easy a read. I got the impression that since he didn’t have to muddle through deep, archaic expression of the written word that he didn’t feel it was worth his time (obviously there was minimal effort!).

I write simply. I write from the heart. I write so that I can convey my message for people to understand and consider, not so they are left in awe of my education, grammar and knowledge. In my profession, I have been extremely successful with this approach, so I didn’t change it for my writing endeavours.

My second book is at the editor and will be released, hopefully, before Valentine’s….somewhat appropriate since it is about love. That very complex, confusing and misunderstood word and concept that affects us all in its vastness. A concept that needs to be understood, digested, contemplated in its awesome enormity. So again I wrote simply and commonly to attempt to get us to consider what we may often overlook in our lives. I’m not out to impress anyone with my usage of the language, I’m out to expand your thoughts on topics that need to be prioritized in our lives. Once again, I hope you will join me in that endeavour.

About PR Huckans

I'm a retired dentist who likes to drive fast, travel, and try to be a good worker, father, husband and Christian. I don't know how well I am doing in each category, but I can drive very fast and I work very hard! You can find out more about me at my author page at Amazon
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

