Calling the Fashion Police!

There is an age when function overshadows style. It must be different for everyone, but I think I hit it recently. It must have been subtle because I don’t feel any different and I certainly don’t feel old enough to wear black socks in my sandals at the beach…not that my wife would let me anyway–she’s my personal gate-keeper! She won’t let me out the door in a manner not suitable for public interaction.

When we were younger, we’d wear whatever it took to look good, no matter how hot, tight, or uncomfortable it was. Style was paramount, even if all you could afford were the knock offs! Things change as we get older and apparently necessity starts to outweigh pride.

These days I find myself wearing headlights on my head like the geeks in Sixteen Candles because it’s easier to pick up dog poop in the dark. I don my reading glasses to trim the dogs private areas because I’m too cheap to pay the grooming fee and so I can avoid snipping anything that shouldn’t be snipped. I sometimes make it out the door wearing blue shorts with green shirts (which apparently do NOT go together!) because it’s convenient and my wife isn’t looking. If it weren’t for my wife I apparently wouldn’t even be able to go into public at all.

Thank God I’m already married or else I’d need to find some cats. Or is that just for women? What do old single guys get, besides older? I may not look as good doing whatever I’m doing anymore, but at least I’ll get it done proficiently and comfortably.

About PR Huckans

I'm a retired dentist who likes to drive fast, travel, and try to be a good worker, father, husband and Christian. I don't know how well I am doing in each category, but I can drive very fast and I work very hard! You can find out more about me at my author page at Amazon
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

