The Cool Wife

Okay guys, I’m going to let you in on something I’ve learned over the years. If you already know, then thanks a lot for the heads up! We already know (supposedly) that men-Mars-women-Venus thing, but still I can’t quite seem to get a handle on the whole opposite sex frame of mind, so I figure you, like me, may need all the help you can get.

Some wives are cooler than others. Some are your best friends as well as your bed mates. However, even if your wives are cool and can act like one of the guys, it would serve you well to remember that she’s still a she. I’m talking mentally here, otherwise the curves and smells should give you ample alternate clues! In particular I’m referring to playing sports with her.

When guys play, we start talking trash and displaying our proficiency and exuberance for the game–from darts to UFC…it’s all a competition. When it’s just the guys, we can get a bit rowdy–you’ve heard of “no blood, no foul,” right? We smash shots in tennis, slam dunk on each others heads, hit line drives purposely in order to display our prowess. That’s all well and good until you add in the cool wife. Now don’t get me wrong here, she may be able to talk the talk, play well, and keep up with the boys, but there is still a little invisible line that you need to keep aware of.

If you get a little full of yourself and forget that you’re playing with your other half, that may not go over so well. That trash talk may come back to haunt you later when the dirty clothes come off and you’re hoping to play a different kind of game. They may get a bit offended and possibly assume you have hidden animosity toward them since you “attacked” them with the ball. Or they might misconstrue the universal “What? How did you miss that?” gesture…you know the palms up, arms outstretched, head back, funny look on our face like “that was a gimme shot, let’s go, pick it up!” and think you were being deliberately demeaning because you think them inferior or don’t want to play with them. Now, you know nothing could be further from the truth, but it’s to late and the damage is done.

That can be the longest, coldest block you’ve ever driven/walked home, let me tell you. Just thought you could use a reminder (I know I could have!). Just because she can get dirty like the boys, don’t forget you don’t want to go home with the boys. I’m definitely not saying you have to let the ladies win, that would be another disastrous move and a horrible conversation! I’m saying we may need to go easy on the testosterone now and again so we don’t get comfortable enough to forget who we’re with. Unless you like the doghouse. Just saying.

About PR Huckans

I'm a retired dentist who likes to drive fast, travel, and try to be a good worker, father, husband and Christian. I don't know how well I am doing in each category, but I can drive very fast and I work very hard! You can find out more about me at my author page at Amazon
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

