A Chance to Shine

One thing always vexed me as I was growing up, and now is an issue again. At least two of my children and some off my closest friends have been confounded by this situation as well. The issue at hand is this: how do you get someone to take a chance on you?

Everyone needs a chance now and again. Maybe they need a fresh start or a new career. Maybe they’re an unknown or a green graduate. Maybe they’re an ex-con with a new outlook and a new lease on life.

So how do you get that first chance if no one will give you the opportunity to prove yourself? How do you gain experience if you can’t get someone to let you take those first steps?

I started working at a very young age and had to beg often to be given a chance to earn that much-needed experience. Some people seem to be too proud to beg, or think that things should just magically happen because they “paid their dues.” Or that pitiful, ugly word “entitled” rears its head. Others just seem to lack the moxy it takes to fight for that chance– their motivation is low and their fortitude lower.

I wish I could give you the answer to the question, but it’s elusive, tricky and touchy. Often, but sadly not always, the amount of success we can expect out of our endeavors is directly related to the amount of effort we put into them. With that thought in mind, the advice I give you isn’t new: anything worth having is worth working and fighting for. Fight for your chance: be persistent, be patient, be ever-present and persevere, endure and overcome.

“I never dreamed about success, I worked for it.” Estee Lauder

“People who are unable to motivate themselves must be content with mediocrity, no matter how impressive their other talents.” Dale Carnegie

“We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope.” “If you can’t fly then run, if you can’t run then walk, if you can’t walk then crawl, but whatever you do you have to keep moving forward.” Martin Luther King

I have been getting wonderful feedback and words of encouragement for my new book. People are telling me that the message is very good, sound and universal. The problem, however, is how to share that message with the rest of the world. I am an unknown in the writing arena, so visibility and credibility come into play. I very much appreciate those of you who have shared my book and blog with others. I certainly hope the message is stronger than the celebrity needed to bring it to light.

About PR Huckans

I'm a retired dentist who likes to drive fast, travel, and try to be a good worker, father, husband and Christian. I don't know how well I am doing in each category, but I can drive very fast and I work very hard! You can find out more about me at my author page at Amazon
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

