Listen Up!

For the duration of my career I did the listening. I listened to small talk, problems, concerns, and other people’s stances on issues. I listened to marital problems, issues with children and employment woes. It put people at ease, made them feel significant, if only for a short while. (It also gave me lots of fodder for writing!) I rarely did the talking (you know most people don’t listen to their doctor anyway!)

You would be surprised how much you can learn when you aren’t vying for the spotlight, fighting for the microphone. Quiet people are often dismissed as wallflowers or uninteresting, but I beg to differ. Sometimes the quiet ones have quite a lot to share, they just want to be heard…really heard–listened to. There is a vast difference between hearing and listening, much like the difference between seeing and observing.

Now I write. Writing is my way to talk for a change…and hopefully, be listened to. It’s my way to try and spread some advice, some joy, and maybe a bit of laughter as well. Not every topic will pique everyone’s attention, but I try to limit myself to topics that are at least beneficial and uplifting (yup, no politics–mostly). Most sane people don’t talk to themselves (or at least that’s what I’ve heard), and while no one has accused me of being sane lately, I sincerely hope my words aren’t falling into the internet abyss.

I appreciate those of you who take the time out of your day to share my thoughts and read what’s on my mind. Please don’t be shy about letting me know how you feel about what you read. I am cutting back the frequency of my posts because I am trying to concentrate on my next book and my family. I’ll keep you posted (pun intended) about the book and what’s on my mind.

“Do not be quick with your mouth, do not be hasty in your heart to utter anything before God. God is in heaven and you are on earth, so let your words be few.” Ecc 5:2

“Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain.” 1 Cor 15:58

About PR Huckans

I'm a retired dentist who likes to drive fast, travel, and try to be a good worker, father, husband and Christian. I don't know how well I am doing in each category, but I can drive very fast and I work very hard! You can find out more about me at my author page at Amazon
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

