You Aren’t Alone!

This great big, blue ball we live on has billions of people running around it, and yet we still sometimes manage to feel all alone. We often feel as if it’s us against the world, an uphill battle with no end in sight. Thank God that’s not true!

My wife and I travel a lot, more than most, and I can tell you that it’s good to have family everywhere we go. No, I don’t have a huge extended family–at least not in the traditional sense. I have a church family. Everywhere we go that has a church meeting, we feel accepted, loved, and welcomed home as if we’ve been gone for a spell. The faces are always different, but the sentiment and reception is generally the same (I say generally because they/we are only human and we aren’t perfect–I thought we’d covered that?).

I know some of you may feel the need to go it alone, fight your own battles and feel beholden to no one. Or maybe you’re afraid to feel vulnerable or out-of-place. I know pride and vulnerability can be issues, but I can attest to how wonderful it feels to always have an unmet friend waiting for you with open arms. I find it very comforting that I don’t have to tackle the world and all its problems alone. That I everywhere I go, someone has my back. That if trouble strikes I don’t have to feel the weight of the world pressing down on me alone. That there are other people struggling with the same issues, different kids and jobs, but the same troubles we all face. I love that there are other like-minded individuals trying their best to get through life while trying to make the right choices. I didn’t say they or I will always get it right, but at least we try. And keep trying.

The church isn’t a building, it’s a group of people all over the world that come together to help each other and be helped. To be recharged by each others’ faith and to recharge ourselves for the coming week….for the troubles ahead. Sounds like a great refuge to me, how about you? Could you use some support?

“If one falls down, his friend can help him up. But pity the man who falls and has no one to help him up!” Eccl 4:10

“For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.” “…I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.” Matt 25:35-36, 40

About PR Huckans

I'm a retired dentist who likes to drive fast, travel, and try to be a good worker, father, husband and Christian. I don't know how well I am doing in each category, but I can drive very fast and I work very hard! You can find out more about me at my author page at Amazon
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

