Lesson Learned

You know, whether you know it or not (or are a believer or not), the Good Book has power beyond our understanding. Don’t worry, I’m not going to get deep and philosophical here, I’m going to get real. If you don’t believe the words inside the Bible, you should at least believe the fact that the Book keeps most of us (sadly, not all of us)–Christians from acting like most of you (happily, not all of you)–the rest of the world.

I just met a man in a thankless job that keeps a Bible on his counter, right in front of him….at his workplace.  That already borders on incredulity!  I assumed it was for reading in between customer visits, but when I tapped the book and told him it was a good choice, I got the real reason.  “I keep it there so I can make it through the day,” he said.  He went on to tell me that keeping the book front and center, a constant visual reminder, was the only way he could deal with all the mean and rude people that he dealt with day after day.  It helped him to restrain himself from lashing out at them as they do to him.  There is power in that statement!  It is a sad and wonderful testament shared in the same breath.

Sad because people treat each other with such disdain.  They know they should have better manners and treat each other kindly, but they choose not to do so.  Sad because common decency and respect have taken nosedives and a backseat to “I” and “Me” mentalities.  Sad for a long list of other reasons that I’m sure I don’t need to outline for you (that’d be a good reason to read my book though!).

However, it’s also a wonderful testament because we can draw strength from such a man as this.  Wonderful because we can choose to overcome evil with good.  Wonderful because the Good Book should be all of our source of forgiveness, kindness, strength, self-control and perseverance.

I strengthened his hope in humanity and he strengthened mine….what did you do today?

“Make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; and to godliness, brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness, love.” 2Pet:5-7

About PR Huckans

I'm a retired dentist who likes to drive fast, travel, and try to be a good worker, father, husband and Christian. I don't know how well I am doing in each category, but I can drive very fast and I work very hard! You can find out more about me at my author page at Amazon
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

