Take a Breath

We are thin-skinned people these days.  It seems like we used to be able to talk more freely and think out loud more without our “social” or “politically correct” filters.  While I just told you a few days ago that we should control our tongues, the sad reality is that is a monumental task.  I’m not contradicting myself or saying we shouldn’t, but that we will absolutely fail occasionally.  So when we and others around us fail, shouldn’t we try to consider that we, ourselves, aren’t perfect so why should everyone else have to be?  By being so touchy, we set a standard that we can’t meet ourselves.

I think it would be wonderful if we always said and did all the right things all the time (heaven knows my wife would love it!).  Let’s be real here….that isn’t going to happen!  So wouldn’t it be wonderful instead, to thicken this thinning skin to buy us some time to take a breath and consider that those around us aren’t going to get it right all the time either?  So that we could show a bit of restraint and forgiveness for the human condition?  So that we could try to filter our biting retorts with love and kindness?  As long as we need filters, they might as well be good ones.  I, for one, know that I could use the break and the wiggle room!  I am so far from politically correct and socially acceptable that it’s amazing my wife lets me leave the house.

“For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will  be measured to you.”  Matt 7:2

About PR Huckans

I'm a retired dentist who likes to drive fast, travel, and try to be a good worker, father, husband and Christian. I don't know how well I am doing in each category, but I can drive very fast and I work very hard! You can find out more about me at my author page at Amazon
This entry was posted in Decency, Love, Marriage, Morality, priorities, relationship, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

