The Terrible “Why’s”

There don’t always appear to be a lot of new ideas out there these days.  Sure, sometimes someone comes along with a new concept or invention, but usually we just rehash old ideas.  What we do often see are new ways of looking at those old ideas.  Fresh perspectives.    Kids have a way of making us look at things in a new light (if you’ll take the time and patience).  Anyone with little kids knows this is true.  I’m talking about that whole “why” stage.  It’s annoying to some parents (and certain passersby), but I like it.  I like a fresh mind thinking about why something works a certain way, why I act or do something a certain way.  It makes me have to consider and account for my actions, words, and thoughts.  The only downside is that the average two-year old won’t usually sit still and digest my five-minute discourse on why the sky is blue or why grandma smells weird.

I’ve always been a huge proponent of “if you don’t want to know the answer, don’t ask the question.”  But the great thing about kids is they don’t know any better!  I’m usually a quiet guy and won’t often voice my opinion (especially if I think you’re wrong–you just go on about your bad self!), but if you ask…I’ll give you my thoughts–and you may not like them!  The honest, brutal truth can be hard to digest.  Would you rather I lie?  Well, I’m not going to!  Coming back to those kids, I don’t think it a terrible thing at all to have to choose our words, consider our actions and display our best for them.  They are sponges that repeat everything we say, sooner or later.  So you need to be sure that what you feed them is what you want coming back at you later…loudly…in public!

“…Men will have to give account on the day of judgment for every careless word they have spoken.  For by your words you will be acquitted, and by your words you will be condemned.”  Matt 12:36-37

If you haven’t heard about my book yet, How to be Content in a World Full of Malcontents, it may give you some fresh perspectives as well!

About PR Huckans

I'm a retired dentist who likes to drive fast, travel, and try to be a good worker, father, husband and Christian. I don't know how well I am doing in each category, but I can drive very fast and I work very hard! You can find out more about me at my author page at Amazon
This entry was posted in Decency, Morality, priorities, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

